Last chance to enter Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards

Encourage women making a difference in construction to enter the 2018 Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards before entries and nominations close on Monday 28th May. Submit your entry or nomination by 9pm on Monday 28th May to be in with a chance of winning an award.

The awards celebrate the achievements of women in construction as well as honouring those organisations which are redressing the industry’s gender imbalance. The fourth annual Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards will be held on Friday 17th August at the Auckland Town Hall.

Employers and managers are encouraged to submit nominations on behalf of their staff. The awards have six categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry. The categories are:

The Helen Tippett Award which celebrates achievement in advancing the interests of women in the construction industry.
Tradeswoman of the Year which celebrates the contribution tradeswomen are making to the industry.

Professional Woman of the Year which focuses on women who have managed a construction project or those who operate their own business in the industry.

Rising Star which celebrates women who demonstrate future leadership potential within the industry. This category is open to women who have worked in the construction industry for less than seven years.

Outstanding Achievement in Design which celebrates the design aspect of a construction project in engineering, architecture or urban/landscape design.

Excellence in Construction Services which honours the contribution of women in administration, sales/marketing or operational roles within the industry.

Student/Apprentice Excellence Award which is open to all women engaged in construction-related study or apprenticeships.

Visit the NAWIC website for nomination/entry forms and further information –

For further information on the 2018 Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards and for interview opportunities please contact:

NAWIC Communications Manager – Gina McKenzie – email:

NAWIC President – Jenny Parker – email: 

The nomination form can be downloaded here.

2 comments (Add your own)

1. Ingrid Downey wrote:
The form says 21 May, but am I to assume you have extended the nomination period?

Thu, 17 May 2018 @ 3:39 PM

2. NAWIC NZ wrote:
Hi Ingrid

Yes, we have extended the nomination period. The form now shows the correct date. Sorry for any confusion.

Mon, 21 May 2018 @ 7:28 AM

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.